Daily Blogging: What “ADULTING” is really like ..

I’ve waited 18 years to be 18. I’m finally 18.

I dreamed of the day I’d be “free” from my parents telling me what to do, and when I could go out when ever I wanted with out asking for anyone’s permission.

Truth is my mom stopped being strict when I turned 16. I don’t get to do everything I want because she does set limits, but I’ve had so much freedom for awhile that once I turned 18 nothing felt different.

When I was way younger I swore that by the time I was 18, I’d have my own apartment. But with what money? I was pretty sure that by now I’d have a good job I’d like. But I don’t. I don’t even know what I like, so I wouldn’t know what job I’d enjoy doing. I was also pretty sure I’d be traveling the world right now, but again I didn’t think about how I’d get the money to do that. I was sure I would have already traveled across the U.S, but I haven’t.

Adulting? Adult life? I don’t even know what that is because I don’t pay bills, or rent or anything. I pay for my own gas, and oil changes, and pay my phone bill some times but that’s about it.

I’ve been working 45 hours a week so I don’t have time to travel anywhere. Besides the fact that I am the worst person at saving for a rainy day, I can’t save enough money to book a flight, or a hotel so traveling probably won’t happen.

Adulting, well the adulting I’m doing (working) is hard. I use to see my friends everyday. But when ever we try to meet up now, everyone is adulting. Everyone has their own job now. So when ever I’m not working they are.

Adulting= No friends, and working all the time.

Leave a Reply

